Saturday, May 19, 2012

Circus Maximus - Nine

Circus Maximus - Nine (2012) Frontiers Records
Produced by Circus Maximus
Tracks : 1.Forging 2.Architect of fortune 3.Namaste 4.Game of life 5.Reach within 6.I am 7.Used 8.The one 9.Burn after reading 10.Last goodbye
4,5 out of 5

Nine is the number of many important and big things such as the planets in our solar system, all studio albums from Led Zeppelin, it also closes a decade to start a new one and not to forget the new album from Norwegian prog masters Circus Maximus. It has taken the band more than 5 years to follow up the excellent "Isolate" but it is truly worth the wait because "Nine" will fulfill every expectation you might have. A brilliant production, impressive vocal performance from Michael Eriksen, amazing musicianship from guitarist Mats Haugen and the band as well as first class songs. I am a huge fan of songbased progrock where the melody is the centre of the song and this band knows this for a fact. Bravo! The first single "Reach within" flirts with Carpark North and I find this so exciting, the lengthy "Architect of fortune" is a new classic from the band but close your eyes to the closing track "Last goodbye" where you will find yourself cloudwalking at the end of the song. Mega-fantastic!

No comments: