Monday, April 8, 2013

Empyrios - Zion

Empyrios - Zion (2013) Scarlet Records
Produced by Simone Mularoni
Tracks : 1.Nescience 2.Domino 3.Masters 4.Reverie 5.Unplugged 6.Renovation 7.Wormhole 8.Square one 9.Zion 10.Blackmail 11.Madman
4 out of 5

The Italian progmetal band Empyrios first album in 5 years will be released in late April, "Zion" is a really impressive album performed by some amazing musicians. The line up is Simone Mularoni - Guitar (DGM), Simone Bertozzi - Bass (Menmic), Silvio Mancini - Vocals and Dario Ciccioni - Drums (Hartmann). We´re talking superheavy modern metal here that is both technical, progressive, melodic and interesting. It´s like putting Soilwork, Pagans Mind and Jorn Lande into a big blender and out comes Empyrios. Mularoni´s downtuned killer riffs are just awesome and Mancini´s vocalperformance goes from deathmetal growls to powerful Jorn Lande-like melodies. When Empyrios show their more complex side, they remind a bit of Gojira. The deathmetal tendencies are always around the corner waiting to wake you up, but the best part of this album is the brilliant production from Mularoni. What can I say, highly recommendable.

No comments: