Sunday, August 17, 2014

Ace Frehley - Space invader

Ace Frehley - Space invader (2014) eOne Music
Produced by Ace Frehley
Tracks : 1.Space invader 2.Gimme a feelin´ 3.I wanna hold you 4.Change 5.Toys 6.Immortal pleasures 7.Inside the vortex 8.What every girl wants 9.Past the milky way 10.Reckless 11.The Joker 12.Starship
4 out of 5

"Space invader" is the first album in 5 years from Ace Frehley where the album cover is created by Ken Kelly who also made the classic artwork of "Destroyer" and "Love Gun".
Space Ace´s 6th solo effort is without doubt his best solo album since the first one in 1978 and the new album sounds a lot like the early Kiss albums and his first solo too.
Ace sounds reborn, I think the life of a sober man only did good to the legendary and former Kiss axeman. I love the entire new album but I would like to point out a few personal faves such as "Space invader", "Toys", "Inside the vortex" and "Past the milky way".
He has previously done covers of Sweet´s "Fox on the run", E.L.O´s "Do ya" and Russ Ballard´s "New York Groove". This time around Ace is taking on Steve Miller´s "The Joker" with a nice result.
There is no continuation in the instrumental Fractured suite but we get a new flashing instrumental in "Starship" that connects to the Fractured series.
Line up : Ace Frehley - Lead Vocals/Guitars/Bass, Chris Wyse - Bass (The Cult) and Matt Starr - Drums (Beautiful Creatures).

No comments: