Monday, October 20, 2014

Rated X - Rated X

Rated X - Rated X (2014) Frontiers Records
Produced by Alessandro Del Vecchio
Tracks : 1.Get back my crown 2.This is who I am 3.Fire and ice 4.I don´t cry no more 5.Lhasa 6.Devil in disguise 7.You are the music 8.Peace of mind 9.Maybe tonight 10.On the way to paradise 11.Our love is not over 12.Stranger in us all
2,5 out of 5

Producer/songwriter Alessandro Del Vecchio tried very hard to recreate the late 70´s and early 80´s hardrock sound with the new supergroup Rated X featuring Joe Lynn Turner - Vocals (Rainbow), Karl Cochran - Guitars (Ace Frehley), Tony Franklin - Bass (Blue Murder) and Carmine Appice - Drums (Blue Murder).
But there are only a few songs on this album that reaches it´s goal, the melodic "Fire and ice" and the majestic "Lhasa" stand out. The guys sure do give their best, just listen to Tony Franklin´s amazing fretless bassplaying or Turner´s passionate vocalperformance. Great musicians.
The Rainbow-like "You are the music" is also good but there are too many fillers and it´s hard to get all excited over this debut album.

No comments: