Saturday, June 4, 2016

Incorporating elements of 80´s pop and noir-rock, here´s Faithless Town

Faithless Town is an American rock band led by singer-songwriter Gene Owens. Formed in 2008 in Atlanta, GA, the band has consisted of several line-ups drawn from the Atlanta indie music scene. The current line-up consists of Owens (lead vocals, guitar), Matthew Smith (guitar, backing vocals), Geoff Goodwin (keyboards), Tyler Sant (bass guitar), and husband and wife Padrick (drums) and Kristine Handley (backing vocals, percussion).

Branching out from their Americana Rock roots, Faithless Town’s new record, Empires, is an eclectic album ranging in music styles as diverse as 80’s Pop and New Wave to Folk and Grunge. A vast theme of imperialism pervades the album in multiple senses. In one sense, the literal meaning of a relationship between a powerful state or society versus a less powerful one and, in other more, more personal sense, it refers to the "empires" within us and the psychological fragments and emotions that can rule our thoughts and the internal struggles we have with them. 
Listen to the album´s lead single Waste Away here.

No comments: