Wednesday, April 26, 2017

Review : Vaultry - Eulogy

Vaultry - Eulogy (2017) Independent
Produced by Leith Hynds / Adam Sutherland / Ben Erikson
Tracks : 1.Eulogy 2.Ghost writing 3.Wildfire 4.The devil and the deep 5.Hospice 6.Cold tea 7.A letter to a dead friend 8.Painted in grey 9.Communion 10.Blindfolds
3,5 out of 5

The new album "Eulogy" from Canadian band Vaultry is not only about the music, there is a story behind the album as well, and an emotional one too.
"Eulogy" is dedicated to their late guitarist Chasen Fraser who was diagnosed with cancer at the age of 25, the album is a collection of songs written in the last few months of Chasen´s life and upon his passing, "Eulogy" tells the story of Chasen´s life and from the perspective of the band as a reaction to their grief.
Vaultry formed in 2014 and released the "Coven" EP in 2015, this year the band releases their most comprehensive album so far and even if the music demands your full attention, it sure grows for each time I hear the album so don´t give up after 1-2 times.
I highly recommend this album to fans of pop punk, emo and more aggressive indie rock, and it´s hard not to be moved by the band´s tribute.
"Eulogy" is performed by Leith Hynds - Lead Vocals/Keyboards, Damian Anthony - Guitar/Vocals, Bradford Davis - Guitar/Vocals, Josh Christensen - Bass/Vocals and Skye McLean - Drums.

No comments: